Knowing how to collaborate well is an integral part of working with a team. Moving a project from a personal A360 hub to an A360 Team hub is a simple action you can take to share a project with multiple team members, while also controlling how much access each member gets.
So, before you head back to your A360 dashboard, take a few minutes to learn the ins-and-outs of moving projects from a personal A360 hub to an A360 Team hub.
Roles and permissions
The first step for successful project migration is to make sure you are the owner of the personal hub and the administrator of the A360 Team hub to approve and facilitate the move.
Note what you can and can’t do when moving projects:
- Move a project from a personal hub to a team hub
- Move a project from a team hub to a team hub
- Move a project from a team hub to a personal hub
- Move a project from a personal hub to a personal hub
Move your project
Let’s get started:
- Sign into your A360 personal hub account
- Click on the
user iconin the upper right-hand corner
- Click on the
This will bring up a list of the projects in your personal hub. Select the project you want to move and click on the
move button. This will bring you to the
project dialog. All of the hubs you belong to are listed in this dialog.
In this example, I will select “AutoCAD”, as that is the name of my A360 Team hub.
Here, you will select either team hub or personal hub, depending on where you want to move the project you selected. As soon as you select your hub, the dialog extends, showing the name of the project and its destination hub.
We will move the “Ford Focus ST” project into the “AutoCAD” hub.
After you click
move, the dialog box will close. You will see an update under the
progress dialog at the upper right side of your A360 hub once the move is complete.
After the move is complete, go to your A360 Team hub, sign in and view the
progress dialog. Notice that the project “Ford Focus ST” moved to “Autodesk7“. `”Autodesk7” is part of the link to the A360 Team hub. You can click on the “Ford Focus ST” project link to go directly to that project.
It’s that simple. There are a few pro tips that can make this process even easier and eliminate or address questions.
Where does my project go when I move it?
It’s important to note that when you move or copy projects from your personal hub into a team hub, all content in the selected project will transfer into a secret project of the same name in the destination hub, and all members of the project will be invited as project contributors, unless they are already team members of the destination hub.
Who can move projects?
Admins from both hubs need to approve the move. If you are the administrator of both hubs, this is a simple task. If you are moving a project from a personal hub to a team hub, you need to be the administrator in your personal hub and a team member in the team hub in order to enable the option to move.
What gets moved when I move a project?
The entire project, along with all the design and metadata gets moved to the new hub.
Can I move a project while it’s being used?
No one should use the project while it’s being moved. If anyone is accessing the project, those changes may be lost. During this process any changes to data that is being edited offline will not reflect in the destination hub.
Try it and let us know how it goes. Want more information? Join us in the forums.